top of page
Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.

What To Do If You're Struggling With Grades


This is a question that I got from one of my readers:

Hi, I just wanted to ask if you have any advice for my problem. I have been getting really bad grades and I want to fix them, but I don't know how. I try really hard to pay attention but it's just really boring :( help

from Emily

My Advice:

School can be pretty tough, Emily. Especially middle school, oh my gosh!!! Tons of homework and less freetime isn't fun at all. :( But if you feel like you are not where you are supposed to be in class, then I can help you.

I know studying isn't fun all the time, but here a few things I can suggest to make it easier and

more fun for you. When you are in class, have a different mindset. Instead of thinking "Ugh, I could be eating chocolate chunk ice cream and be watching the season 4 Once Upon A Time finale right now.", think "If I pay attention, then imagine how high my grades will get! If I get good grades, I could graduate with a good degree and be able to afford to travel, buy a big house, and do many things! I would even be able to afford to buy all the chocolate chunk ice cream I want and rent every episode of Once Upon A Time!" I always think like this when I am really bored in class. But don't let these thoughts get you carried away in school, though, lol!

Another thing you can when you are studying is to not let yourself get behind. When there is

an assignment that is due in two weeks, don't wait until the last minute to work on it. If you work on everything a little advanced, then you can devote more time into actually understanding the entire material, which will make it easier for you to understand and get good grades. I do this all the time; it's my best method!

Remember to fully read and understand everything you learn in class. You might think "well, duh", but seriously! All you really need to get better grades is to pay attention. As boring as it may sound, it actually helps you because then you remember all that was taught throughout the lesson. Also, take notes. When you take notes, it's like you're videotaping the entire class and can watch that video whenever you want. It really helps because when you are studying at home, you can just flip back to your notes you took in class and read them to help you.

Honestly, school is really fun. It's amazing to learn about so many things going on around

us that we don't know about. Did you know that over 100 species of animals become extinct every hour? I know it's sad, but it's interesting. Just by reading this fun fact you already became smarter. For example, I read this book series by National Geographic called "Weird But True!" and it has a bunch of interesting facts like these all throughout it. I have read that since I was in third grade. So anyways, in 4th grade my teacher gave me an assignment that I wasn't too familiar with (it was science). I didn't study much the day before, but I was able to get a really good grade on it. Why? Because the asked me about questions that I had read about before in books like "Weird But True"!

So if you just follow this Emily, you will be getting better grades in no time. I hope this helps!


      Hey Everybody!
Follow me
  • Facebook Globe
  • Twitter Globe
  • Google+ Globe
  • YouTube Globe
bottom of page